Committee on Employment Law

This committee serves as NRF’s technical committee on labor law and employee relations matters and is comprised of retail in-house legal counsel, senior human resource executives, and prominent outside labor counsel.

The committee meets twice each year to discuss labor, human resources, and employment law issues, including trends in litigation, new policy developments, and best practices in effectively complying with labor laws and regulations. The CEL provides an excellent venue to network, exchange information, and discuss best practices with industry peers. NRF hosts monthly conference calls for the committee, conducts benchmarking, and regularly files amicus briefs on behalf of the industry. 

(Fall 2020 Meeting - information/registration)

For more information on joining this committee, please contact Ed Egee.


Equal Employment Opportunity Commission and Supreme Court Subcommittee
Chair: Diane Saunders, Ogletree Deakins

International Employment Law Subcommittee
Chair: Myriane Le François, Borden Ladner Gervais

Litigation Subcommittee
Chair: Julie Stahr, Schiff Hardin

National Labor Relations Board Subcommittee
Chair: Kim Seten, Constangy, Brooks, Smith & Prophete

Technology in the Workplace Subcommittee
Chair: Adam Forman, Epstein Becker & Green

Wage and Hour Subcommittee

CEL Member Law Firms

  • Carr Maloney, PC
  • Constangy Brooks Smith & Prophete, LLP
  • Epstein Becker & Green, PC
  • Littler Mendelson, PC
  • Miller Canfield Paddock and Stone, PLC
  • Morgan Brown & Joy, LLP
  • Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
  • Ogletree Deakins Nash Smoak & Stewart, PC
  • Phillips Nizer LLP 
  • Schiff Hardin, LLP
  • Sheppard Mullin Richter & Hampton, LLP